Swallow the Sun - Ghosts of Loss

  | 2LP

HEAVY, thick double LP.....insane thickness!

Finnish doom legends Swallow The Sun are back with their sophomore album "Ghosts Of Loss". A follow-up to their 2003 debut album "The Morning Never Came". I had only heard the track "Descending Waters" before on a compilation album that came out earlier this year. The track left me eagerly waiting for the new album, the wait was very well worth it. When a band releases something high caliber as "The Morning Came" it's very hard to reach the same level on the next effort. Swallow The Sun however succeeds fully with "Ghosts Of Loss".

"Ghosts Of Loss" opens with a massive, quite fittingly titled track "The Giant". With a length of almost 12 minutes, the track is full of atmospheric and haunting melodies. The second song, "Descending Waters" features amazing melodies and is definitely one of the best tracks on this album. For those who haven't heard Swallow The Sun before, their sound could be described as a mix of doom and death metal. The sound is comprised of heavy riffs that slowly proceed accompanied with the melodic harmonies of the synths. The vocal works mostly consists of the deep and brutal growls of M. Kotamäki. There's also plenty of clean vocals to go along with the growls, so the result has a very nice contrast. Other worthy to mention tracks on the album are "Ghost Of Laura Palmer" and the first single "Forgive Her...".

In the end "Ghosts Of Loss" is a brutally beatiful album, that won't leave any doom fan cold. Fans of "The Morning Came" will definitely like the "Ghosts Of Loss".
Teemu Hakala, (Hardcoresounds.net)

[ Discography ] 
Label: Firebox | Item Code: Various | Country: Finland | Year: 2006 | Genre: Doom Metal

This item is currently out of stock - this page is for archival purposes only!

Swallow the Sun - Ghosts of Loss Reviews - read/add | Total Reviews ( 0 )
Swallow the Sun - Ghosts of Loss Songs / Track Listing

* Check for more information on Google! *